Spend the day or the weekend exploring our Historic Downtown District, which offers an eclectic shopping experience in buildings restored to their original grandeur. Visitors browse a collection of gift boutiques, antique shops, gourmet shop, spa, restaurants, and other establishments offering everything from home accessories, collectibles, fine jewelry, clothing, rare books, fine handmade furniture, and great casual dining experiences. Historic Downtown is also home to a burgeoning arts scene. Please visit the Historic Downtown Rosenberg Division of the Central Fort Bend Chamber Alliance’s Facebook page for more information on our exciting Historic Downtown.
Since their grand opening in 2002, the Rosenberg Railroad Museum has amassed a collection of artifacts, maps, photographs, semaphores, wig-wag, and memorabilia detailing the history of the Great Rails in and around Rosenberg and Fort Bend County.
Open Tues-Sat 10 am to 5 pm and Sunday 1 pm to 5 pm.
Special tours by appointment.
The first Fort Bend County Fair was held October 6-8, 1933. Through the years, the Fort Bend County Fair has grown into one of the largest and most successful fairs in the State of Texas. Residents of the county eagerly anticipate visiting with friends and neighbors at some of the many activities the Fair has to offer. Youth education has always been a primary focus of fair activities. In recent years, the development of a scholarship program has provided deserving Fort Bend County students with scholarships to Texas colleges and universities. Annually, thirty scholarships are awarded to our high school youth. This nine day event includes rodeos, livestock shows, barbecue cook-offs, a carnival and other family entertainment events. Dances and additional entertainment are held each night.
Located above Vogelsang Antiques in Rosenberg’s Historic Downtown District, the CAST Theatrical Company welcomes 62 guests every Friday and Saturday night to the best in live repertory theater performances.
Magnolia Street @ Avenue D, Rosenberg
This historic cemetery formerly known as the Woodmen of the World Cemetery was established by Rosenberg Camp No. 535. The names of the city’s early settlers and leaders can be found among grave markers dating back to 1890.
Admission Fee Required
21901 FM 762, Needville
Located south of Rosenberg, Brazos Bend State Park is considered the crown jewel of Texas State Parks. The park’s 5,000 acres offers a wide variety of activities for every age: biking, fishing, hiking, birding, camping, star-gazing, and opportunities to learn about Texas’ bountiful natural history via free programs and guided hikes. Fragments of the ancient coastal prairie survive here as do dense bottomland hardwood forests and extensive marshes, making ideal habitats for the American alligator and a rich diversity of other reptiles, amphibians, and mammals. Abundant park wildlife includes white-tail deer, coyote, bob cat, gray fox, and over 300 species of resident and migratory birds recorded and wildflowers abound during the warmer months, drawing a wealth of butterflies. Park amenities include a Nature Center, Environmental Education Center, amphitheater, 20 miles of hike and bike trails, and more.
An interactive, space flight simulation, learning experience for children! Challenger Center Missions at the George Observatory take advantage of space exploration to fuel the imagination and bring a unique hands-on learning experience to every student.
Located within Brazos Bend State Park, the Observatory consists of three domed telescopes and includes a 36″ Gueymard Research Telescope, one of the largest telescopes in the nation. A new addition to the Observatory is an 11″ F15 refracting telescope donated by Preston and Donna Engebretson of Houston, Texas. The 11″ is mounted on the Gueymard 36″ (.9 meter) RC Tinsley Reflector.
Journey to a place and time where cattle and cotton are king and Texas is a country all its own. Visit the George Ranch Historical Park and discover a treasury of Texas traditions. At the George Ranch Historical Park, you can step back in time to experience more than 100 years of Texas history. Through innovative and interactive programs, you can get your hands “on the past.”
Admission Fee Required
500 Houston Street, Richmond
The Fort Bend Museum portrays Fort Bend County from Austin’s Colony in 1822 to 1945. Journey through time and experience life on the Brazos River and the Fort Bend story through dioramas and displays.
Jane Long, known as the “Mother of Texas”, originally owned most of present-day Richmond by way of a land grant. The Long Smith Cottage, built on this land, is now an extension of the Fort Bend Museum. The cottage is furnished with Jane Longs possessions and other period pieces dating from the 1840s to 1860s.
Hours: Tuesday through Friday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Merchant Isaac McFarlane built this house between 1882-1883. It has since been restored to its original beauty. Fort Bend Museum Association’s administrative offices occupy the building now. The McFarlane house was an important aspect in the 1889 Jaybird/Woodpecker clash.
This neo-classical mansion is located behind the Fort Bend County Historical Museum. The furnishings include period fixtures and furniture. John M. Moore, a prominent rancher and former congressman, was the original owner. The Moore family donated the home to the Fort Bend County Historical Museum in 1975.
Days: Tuesday through Sunday.
Please call for hours.
Known as the resting place of Fort Bend’s early pioneers, this cemetery was founded in 1825 by William Morton. Prominent “residents” include Jane Long (1798 – 1880, known as “The Mother of Texas” and one of the state’s first women settlers), Mirabeau R. Lamar (Republic of Texas President from 1838 to 1841) and the Moore family. The Cemetery was found in 1825 when William Morton buried Robert Gelaspie (Gillespie), a fellow Mason who reportedly had met with foul play. Morton later erected the first know Masonic landmark in Texas, a handmade brick tomb. Originally a Mexican land grant to William Morton, the property passed to Morton’s widow Nancy when Morton was lost in an 1833 Brazos flood. She sold the property to Handy and Lusk, promoters of the Richmond townsite. Michael DeChaumes acquired the cemetery in 1854. In the 1890s Morton Lodge No. 72, A. F. & A. M. and operated the parcel as Richmond Masonic Cemetery until the early 1940s. It was then turned over to the Richmond Cemetery Association which was later retitled Morton Cemetery Association. The Morton Cemetery has become a memorial to its founder, William Morton.
Please call for tours.